The Board is tasked with providing the Federal Minister for Economic Affairs and Energy with independent advice on all aspects of economic policy. The Board sets its own agenda and meets five times a year. It submits the results of its deliberations in the form of expert opinions. These are published regularly. The Board was the first independent body providing academic policy advice in post-war Germany. It has gained an outstanding reputation for academic policy advice.