Internal hyperlinks for navigation

Article - European Economic Policy

Responsibilities as a ministry for European affairs

Introduction

Since the early days of the Federal Republic, the Economic Affairs Ministry has always played a major part in shaping Germany’s European policy and, by extension, European integration.

As the ministry for European affairs, the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy is responsible for coordinating and shaping the Federal Government’s policy on European affairs together with the Federal Foreign Office. In this role, it represents Germany’s positions in Brussels, particularly on the Council of the European Union. Besides taking the lead on economic policy in this context, it also holds responsibility within the Federal Government for EU state aid control policy, representing the Federal Republic in cases brought before the European courts as well as initiatives for better regulation and cutting red tape.

Responsibilities as a ministry for European affairs

Since the early days of the Federal Republic of Germany, the Economics Affairs Ministry has always played an important role in Germany’s policy on Europe. Even during the negotiations for the Treaties of Rome signed in 1957, it already became clear that the Federal Republic needed a coordinated policy approach on Europe. Heinrich von Brentano, Foreign Minister from 1955 to 1961, regarded European affairs as a cornerstone of foreign policy. He viewed the European Community predominantly as a political project to win back German sovereignty. At the same time, Ludwig Erhard, Economic Affairs Minister from 1949 to 1963, also claimed a lead role for his ministry. His priority was economic integration, which was to be based on the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) and modelled on the principles of German economic policy. This was also reflected in the structure of the ministry: in 1951, a Directorate for the European Coal and Steel Community was established, followed by the Directorate-General for European Policy in 1958.

After the 1957 general election, Konrad Adenauer, Federal Chancellor from 1949 to 1963, transferred all responsibility for European economic policy to the Ministry for Economic Affairs. In 1958 the Foreign Office and the Ministry for Economic Affairs signed an agreement setting out the distribution of responsibilities between the two ministries. The Foreign Office was to be in charge of the further development of the Treaties and foreign policy affairs on the Council of Ministers, while responsibility for economic policy issues rested with the Ministry for Economic Affairs. To this day, Germany’s European policy is still organised along the lines of this division of responsibilities.

Trade and cross-border interaction

Ludwig Erhard, who was Economic Affairs Minister at that time, and the then State Secretary for Europe, Alfred Müller-Armack, campaigned for a modern competition policy, wide-ranging trade facilitation as well as an enlargement of the Community and the Common Market. The Customs Union reduced barriers to trade between the Member States of the European Economic Community (EEC) and fostered cross-border interaction.

European Flag

EU milestones

1

18 April 1951

2

25 March 1957

3

1 July 1967

4

7 and 10 June 1979

5

1 November 1993

6

26 March 1995

7

1 January 2002

8

1 May 2004

9

1 June 2005

10

1 December 2009

11

10 December 2012

12

23 June 2016

The “European Coal and Steel Community” (ECSC) is established.

The “European Economic Community” (EEC) and the “European Atomic Energy Community” (EURATOM) are established (“Treaties of Rome”).

The 1965 Merger Treaty enters into force: the EEC, EURATOM and ECSC become the “European Communities” (EC).

The first European elections to the European Parliament are held.

The Maastricht Treaty enters into force. This creates the EU and extends cooperation (e.g. common foreign and security policy, economic and monetary union).

The Schengen Agreement to abolish border controls at the internal borders of initially five states enters into force.

The euro is introduced in twelve EU countries, establishing a common currency.

Major EU enlargement to overcome the division of Europe created during the “Cold War”.

The EU Constitution is rejected in referendums in France (29 May) and the Netherlands (1 June) and cannot enter into force.

The “Treaty of Lisbon” creates a new common basis for the EU.

The EU receives the Nobel Peace Prize.

UK citizens vote to leave the EU (Brexit).

European policy coordination

How are decisions on European policy taken within the Federal Government?

Due to increasing European integration, almost every policy area now has a European sphere to it. Against this background, it is particularly important that German interests are represented effectively in Brussels, particularly on the Council of the European Union. In order to ensure that this happens, positions must be developed and agreed between all stakeholders at national level as early as possible.

In Germany it is the joint responsibility of the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and the Federal Foreign Office to ensure that the Federal Government speaks with one voice when dealing with the various EU institutions in Brussels.

Coordinating role of the Economic Affairs Ministry

European policy coordination within the Federal Government takes place in dedicated coordination units at different levels of government. These units are focused on EU affairs and help to speed up decision-making and resolve potential conflicts. They include, above all, the State Secretaries Committee for European Affairs chaired by the Minister of State for Europe at the Federal Foreign Office (with the representative from the Economic Affairs Ministry acting as deputy chair) and the round table of the European Affairs Directors-General of the federal ministries (co-chaired by the Foreign Office and the Economic Affairs Ministry). In addition, each Federal Ministry has a European Affairs Officer who serves as the main contact for all European policy matters.

Another important coordinating task for the Economic Affairs Ministry consists in instructing the German ambassador on the Permanent Representatives Committee I (Coreper I) in Brussels. This committee convenes weekly and is made up of representatives from all Member States. Its tasks include preparing the work of the EU Councils of Ministers on competitiveness, telecommunications, energy, agriculture, environment, employment and social policy. Based on the instructions received, the Ambassador expresses the German position on the Committee in Brussels.

Responsibility for instructing the German representatives on the Coreper committees is shared between the Economic Affairs Ministry and the Foreign Office. The Foreign Office instructs the German representative on Coreper II which prepares the work of 4 Council configurations: The General Affairs Council, the Foreign Affairs Council, the Economic and Financial Affairs Council (ECOFIN) and the Justice and Home Affairs Council.

Cooperation with the German Bundestag and the Bundesrat

The Economic Affairs Ministry also ensures that the German Bundestag and the Bundesrat are informed comprehensively, in good time and continuously about current EU business. This is important in order to allow these bodies to exercise their constitutional participation rights in the Federal Government’s European policy. The details are set out in the ‘Act on Cooperation between the Federal Government and the German Bundestag in Matters concerning the European Union’ (EUZBBG) and the ‘Act on Cooperation between the Federation and the Federal States in Matters concerning the European Union’ (EUZBLG). This ensures that the Bundestag and the Bundesrat are able to express an opinion on the Federal Government’s position in European policy initiatives and thus exercise their influence on deliberations at EU level, particularly regarding EU legislation.

European elections

European Parliamentary Elections

There are various ways in which European Union citizens can get involved in the political decision-making process at EU level. Apart from petitions, citizens’ enquiries and dialogue forums such as the EU Citizens’ Dialogues, this includes, above all, the European Parliamentary Elections.

The European Parliament represents the interests of European citizens. It is the only EU institution elected in direct democratic elections and has legislative and budgetary co-decision-making powers. In addition, the European Parliament votes on and elects the candidate for the presidency of the European Commission proposed by the European Council. The elections take place every five years. From 23 to 26 May 2019, all Member States held European elections for the ninth time. The logistics are challenging: the 2019 European Parliamentary elections were the biggest cross-border elections ever held simultaneously.

Representing the interests of all EU citizens

The European Parliamentary elections are based on the principle of proportional representation using party lists. Each voter has one vote and votes for a list proposed by a party or political association. In principle, all European Union citizens have the right to vote. EU citizens residing in a Member State of which they are not nationals can vote either in their country of residence or their country of origin.

The legal basis for the elections consists of the national provisions of the individual Member States and the 2009 Lisbon Treaty. It stipulates that the European Parliament shall have 751 Members. The maximum number of MEPs for an individual country is 96, the minimum number is 6. The seats are distributed among Member States within these limits. Countries with large populations will receive a higher number of seats in total, but less than smaller countries if viewed in proportion to their population. Germany has the highest number of MEPs (96). Once the UK has left the EU, the number of MEPs will decrease to 705.

On 3 July 2019, David-Maria Sassoli from Italy (S&D) was elected as President of the European Parliament.

“This time I’m voting”

The EU-wide campaign “This time I’m voting” was an initiative of the European Parliament in the run-up to the 2019 European elections with the aim of increasing voter turnout in general. In Germany, the turnout in 2019 was 61.4%. This was the highest turnout for 20 years and a significant increase compared to 2014, when roughly 48% of eligible EU citizens voted in the European elections.

European Parliament

European votes in 2019

1

Autumn/winter 2018

2

14-18 April 2019

3

26 May 2019

4

2-4 July 2019

5

July 2019

6

Expected November 2019

Nomination of the lead candidates for the European elections

Last parliamentary session before the election

Election day in Germany (elections take place every 5 years)

First session of the new parliament (election of the President of the European Parliament and formation of the parliamentary groups)

European Parliament votes on the new President of the European Commission

European Parliament approves the members of the European Commission

Contact

Advice and information about the EU for citizens and companies

The Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy helps citizens solve cross-border problems in the EU internal market through the SOLVIT network. Together with business, it also analyses current EU projects in terms of their significance for SMEs.

The SME monitor for EU initiatives strengthens the involvement of SMEs in important EU projects. Small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) can find out at an early stage about relevant projects and feed their interests into ongoing consultation procedures. Find out more.

SOLVIT: Unbureaucratic support for citizens and companies

SOLVIT is a network in which all EU and EEA members work together to find pragmatic solutions for the problems of citizens and companies caused by the incorrect application of internal market provisions by authorities.

Responsibilities of the Centre of Excellence on European Law

The Directorate-General for European Policy at the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Technology acts as a co-ordinator on central issues relating to European legislation at federal and, in many cases, at Länder level as well. In addition, the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy represents Germany in all cases that are brought before the European courts in Luxembourg.

It is responsible for providing legal expertise in the field of EU law, the extra-judicial settlement of disputes with the European Commission (infringement proceedings) and issues that cut across multiple sectors, such as review of compliance with the principle of subsidiarity or the fending off of penalty payments. Find out more.

Further information

Flags in front of the European Parliament

Sprungmarken-Navigation

Artikel - Europäische Wirtschaftspolitik

Das BMWi als Europaministerium

Einleitung

Schon seit den Anfängen der Bundesrepublik gestaltet das BMWi die deutsche Europapolitik und damit auch die Europäische Integration mit.

Das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) organisiert und gestaltet als Europaministerium gemeinsam mit dem Auswärtigen Amt die Europapolitik der Bundesregierung. Dazu bringt es die deutschen Interessen in Brüssel vor allem im Rat der Europäischen Union ein. In diesem Rahmen nimmt es nicht nur in der Wirtschaftspolitik eine zentrale Rolle ein, sondern ist innerhalb der Bundesregierung zuständig für die EU-Beihilfenkontrollpolitik, die Vertretung der Bundesrepublik bei Verfahren vor den europäischen Gerichten oder in den Bereichen Bessere Rechtssetzung und Bürokratieabbau.

Das BMWi als Europaministerium

Schon seit den Anfängen der Bundesrepublik Deutschland hat das BMWi eine wichtige Rolle in der Europapolitik. So zeigte sich bereits bei den Vertragsverhandlungen zu den 1957 unterzeichneten Römischen Verträgen, dass eine koordinierte deutsche Europapolitik erforderlich ist. Heinrich von Brentano, Außenminister von 1955 bis 1961, sah in der Europapolitik einen zentralen Aspekt der Außenpolitik. Er sah die Europäische Gemeinschaft vor allem als politisches Projekt, um die Souveränität Deutschlands zurückzugewinnen. Ludwig Erhard, Wirtschaftsminister von 1949 bis 1963, beanspruchte hingegen eine Führungsrolle des Wirtschaftsministeriums. Für ihn stand die wirtschaftliche Integration im Vordergrund, die auf der Europäischen Gemeinschaft für Kohle und Stahl (EGKS) aufbaute und im Einklang mit den Grundprinzipien der deutschen Wirtschaftspolitik ablaufen sollte. Dies spiegelte sich auch in der Struktur des Hauses wider: Bereits 1951 wurde eine Unterabteilung für die Europäische Gemeinschaft für Kohle und Stahl gegründet und 1958 die Europaabteilung.

Konrad Adenauer, Bundeskanzler von 1949 bis 1963, übertrug nach der Bundestagswahl 1957 dem Bundeswirtschaftsministerium die gesamten Zuständigkeiten für die europäische Wirtschaftspolitik. Im Jahr 1958 unterzeichneten das Auswärtige Amt und das BMWi eine gemeinsame Vereinbarung zur Aufgabenverteilung. Danach war das Auswärtige Amt für die Weiterentwicklung der Verträge und außenpolitische Angelegenheiten im Ministerrat zuständig, das BMWi für wirtschaftspolitische Fragen. Die damals festgelegte Arbeitsteilung der beiden Ministerien prägt bis heute die Struktur der deutschen Europapolitik.

Für Handel und grenzüberschreitenden Austausch

Der damalige Wirtschaftsminister Erhard und sein Europa-Staatssekretär Alfred Müller-Armack setzten sich für eine moderne Wettbewerbspolitik, weitreichende Handelserleichterungen sowie für eine Erweiterung der Gemeinschaft und Ausdehnung des gemeinsamen Marktes ein. Die Zollunion erleichterte zugunsten aller Staaten der Europäischen Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft (EWG) den europäischen Handel und förderte den grenzüberschreitenden Austausch.

Was ist Europa für Sie?

EU-Flagge zu Europäische Wirtschaftspolitik

Meilensteine der EU

1

18. April 1951

2

25. März 1957

3

1. Juli 1967

4

7. und 10. Juni 1979

5

1. November 1993

6

26. März 1995

7

1. Januar 2002

8

1. Mai 2004

9

1. Juni 2005

10

1. Dezember 2009

11

10. Dezember 2012

12

23. Juni 2016

Die „Europäische Gemeinschaft für Kohle und Stahl“ (EGKS) wird gegründet.

Die „Europäische Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft“ (EWG) und die „Europäische Atomgemeinschaft“ (EURATOM) werden gegründet („Römische Verträge“).

Der Fusionsvertrag von 1965 tritt in Kraft: Aus der EWG, EURATOM und EGKS werden die „Europäischen Gemeinschaften“ (EG).

Die erste Europawahl zum Europäischen Parlament findet statt.

Der „Vertrag von Maastricht“ tritt in Kraft. Damit wird die EU gegründet und die Zusammenarbeit ausgeweitet (zum Beispiel gemeinsame Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik, Wirtschafts- und Währungsunion).

Das Schengener Übereinkommen, das die Grenzkontrollen an den Binnengrenzen von zunächst fünf Staaten abschaffen soll, tritt in Kraft.

Mit dem Euro wird ein gemeinsames Bargeld in zwölf EU-Ländern eingeführt.

Große EU-Erweiterung, mit der die Teilung Europas während des „Kalten Krieges“ überwunden wird.

Die EU-Verfassung wird bei Referenden in Frankreich (29. Mai) und den Niederlanden (1. Juni) abgelehnt und kann nicht in Kraft treten.

Mit dem „Vertrag von Lissabon“ wird die EU auf eine neue gemeinsame Grundlage gestellt.

Die EU erhält den Friedensnobelpreis.

Die Bevölkerung des Vereinigten Königreichs stimmt für den Austritt aus der EU (Brexit).

Europapolitische Koordinierung

Wie funktioniert die europapolitische Entscheidungsfindung in der Bundesregierung?

Im Zuge der fortschreitenden europäischen Integration hat fast jeder Politikbereich auch europapolitische Aspekte. Umso wichtiger ist es, deutsche Interessen in Brüssel, vor allem im Rat der Europäischen Union, wirksam zu vertreten. Dafür müssen frühzeitig Positionen auf nationaler Ebene erarbeitet und mit allen Beteiligten abgestimmt werden.

In Deutschland ist das Bundeswirtschaftsministerium (BMWi) gemeinsam mit dem Auswärtigen Amt (AA) dafür verantwortlich, dass die Bundesregierung gegenüber den verschiedenen EU-Institutionen in Brüssel mit einer Stimme spricht.

Koordinierungsfunktion des BMWi

Die europapolitische Koordinierung innerhalb der Bundesregierung erfolgt in Gremien auf verschiedenen Ebenen. Diese befassen sich speziell mit EU-Angelegenheiten und tragen dazu bei, möglichst schnell Entscheidungen herbeizuführen und etwaige Konflikte auszuräumen. Hierzu zählen vor allem der Staatssekretärsausschuss für Europafragen unter Vorsitz des Staatsministers für Europa im Auswärtigen Amt (stellvertretender Vorsitz: BMWi) und die Runde der mit Europafragen befassten Abteilungsleiterinnen und Abteilungsleiter (gemeinsamer Vorsitz: AA und BMWi). Außerdem hat jedes Bundesministerium eine Europabeauftragte bzw. einen Europabeauftragten als zentrale europapolitische Kontaktperson.

Eine weitere zentrale Koordinierungsaufgabe des BMWi ist es, die politischen Weisungen an die deutsche Botschafterin im Ausschuss der Ständigen Vertreter des Rates (AStV 1) in Brüssel zu übermitteln. Dieser Ausschuss tagt wöchentlich und besteht aus Vertreterinnen und Vertretern aller EU-Mitgliedstaaten. Er bereitet unter anderem die EU-Ministerräte für die Bereiche Wettbewerbsfähigkeit, Telekommunikation, Energie, Landwirtschaft, Umwelt, Arbeit und Soziales vor. Auf der Basis von Sprechzetteln, die als Weisungen bezeichnet werden, trägt die Botschafterin anschließend die deutsche Position im Ausschuss in Brüssel vor.

Die sogenannte Weisungsgebung erfolgt in Arbeitsteilung mit dem Auswärtigen Amt. Dieses erteilt Weisungen für den AStV 2, der den Allgemeinen Rat, den Rat für Außenbeziehungen, den Rat für Wirtschaft und Finanzen (ECOFIN) sowie den Rat der Justiz- und Innenministerinnen und -minister vorbereitet.

Zusammenarbeit mit Deutschem Bundestag und Bundesrat

Das BMWi sorgt auch dafür, dass der Deutsche Bundestag und der Bundesrat im laufenden EU-Geschäft umfassend, zum frühestmöglichen Zeitpunkt und fortlaufend unterrichtet werden. Das ist wichtig, damit diese Organe ihre gesetzlich verankerten Mitwirkungsrechte in der Europapolitik wahrnehmen können. Diese werden im "Gesetz über die Zusammenarbeit von Bundesregierung und Deutschem Bundestag in Angelegenheiten der EU" (EUZBBG) und im "Gesetz über die Zusammenarbeit von Bund und Ländern in Angelegenheiten der EU" (EUZBLG) geregelt. Auf diese Weise erhalten Bundestag und Bundesrat die Möglichkeit, gegenüber der Bundesregierung zu europapolitischen Vorhaben Stellung zu nehmen und so Einfluss auf die Beratungen auf europäischer Ebene, insbesondere auf die Rechtsetzung der EU, auszuüben.

Europäisches Parlament

Europa wählt 2019

1

Herbst/Winter 2018

2

14.-18. April 2019

3

26. Mai 2019

4

2.- 4. Juli 2019

5

Juli 2019

6

Vorraussichtlich November 2019

Nominierung der Spitzenkandidaten für die Europawahl

Letzte Parlamentssitzung vor der Wahl

Europawahl in Deutschland (gewählt wird alle 5 Jahre)

Erste Parlamentssitzung nach der Wahl (Wahl des EP-Präsidenten und Konstituierung der Fraktionen)

Vorraussichtliche Wahl des neuen Kommissionspräsidenten durch das Europäische Parlament

Bestätigung der Kommissionsmitglieder durch das Europäische Parlament

Europawahl

Die Wahl zum Europaparlament

Bürgerinnen und Bürger der Europäischen Union können sich auf verschiedene Arten am politischen Entscheidungsprozess auf europäischer Ebene beteiligen. Im Zentrum dieses demokratischen Vorgangs steht neben Petitionen, Bürgeranfragen oder Dialogformaten wie dem EU-Bürgerdialog die Wahl zum Europaparlament.

Das Europäische Parlament vertritt die Interessen der europäischen Bürgerinnen und Bürger. Es ist das einzige direkt demokratisch gewählte Organ der EU und entscheidet mit über europäische Gesetze sowie über den Haushalt. Außerdem wählt das Europäische Parlament den Präsidenten der Europäischen Kommission, der vom Europäischen Rat vorgeschlagen wird. Gewählt wird alle fünf Jahre – vom 23. bis 26. Mai 2019 fanden zum insgesamt neunten Mal Wahlen in allen Mitgliedstaaten statt. Eine beträchtliche logistische Aufgabe: Die letzte Wahl zum Europäischen Parlament war die größte länderübergreifende Wahl, die jemals zur gleichen Zeit abgehalten wurde.

Interessenvertretung aller Unionsbürgerinnen und -bürger

Die Wahl zum Europäischen Parlament erfolgt nach den Grundsätzen des Verhältniswahlrechts mit Listenvorschlägen. Alle Wähler verfügen über eine Stimme, mit der sie einen Listenvorschlag einer Partei oder einer politischen Vereinigung wählen können. Grundsätzlich sind alle Bürgerinnen und Bürger der Europäischen Union wahlberechtigt, wobei im EU-Ausland lebende Bürger entweder am Ort ihres Wohnsitzes oder in ihrem Herkunftsland wählen dürfen.

Als Grundlage für die Wahlen gilt neben der jeweiligen Gesetzgebung der EU-Mitgliedsstaaten der Lissaboner Vertrag von 2009. Er legt die Zahl der Mitglieder des Europäischen Parlaments auf 751, die Höchstzahl der Abgeordneten eines Landes auf 96 und die Mindestvertretung eines Landes auf sechs Abgeordnete fest. Im Rahmen dieser Vorgaben erfolgt die Verteilung der Sitze auf die EU-Länder. Bevölkerungsreiche Länder erhalten insgesamt mehr, proportional im Verhältnis zur Bevölkerung allerdings weniger Sitze als kleinere Länder. Deutschland stellt die Höchstzahl mit 96 Abgeordneten. Das neue Europäische Parlament wird, sobald der Austritt Großbritanniens vollzogen ist, nur noch 705 Abgeordnete haben.

Am 3. Juli 2019 wurde der Italiener David-Maria Sassoli (S&D) zum Präsidenten des Europaparlaments gewählt.

„Diesmal wähle ich“

Mit der europaweiten Informationskampagne „Diesmal wähle ich“ hatte sich das Europäische Parlament im Vorfeld der Europawahl 2019 zum Ziel gesetzt, die Wahlbeteiligung nachhaltig zu steigern. Beim Urnengang im Jahr 2019 betrug sie in Deutschland rund 61,4 Prozent. Das ist die höchste Wahlbeteiligung seit 20 Jahren und eine deutliche Steigerung gegenüber dem Jahr 2014 als rund 48 Prozent der wahlberechtigen europäischen Bürgerinnen und Bürger an der Europawahl teilnahmen.

EU-Flagge zu Europäische Wirtschaftspolitik; Quelle: iStock.com/instamatics

© iStock.com/instamatics

Europäische Wirtschaftspolitik

Zum Artikel

Ansprechpartner

EU-Service-Ministerium für Bürger und Unternehmen

Das Bundeswirtschaftsministerium unterstützt Bürger und Bürgerinnen bei der Lösung von grenzüberschreitenden Problemen im EU-Binnenmarkt durch das SOLVIT-Netzwerk und untersucht gemeinsam mit der Wirtschaft aktuelle EU-Vorhaben hinsichtlich ihrer Bedeutung für den Mittelstand.

Mit dem Mittelstandsmonitor für EU-Vorhaben werden die Mitsprachemöglichkeiten des Mittelstands bei wichtigen EU-Vorhaben gestärkt. Kleine und mittlere Unternehmen (KMU) können sich mit dem Mittelstandsmonitor frühzeitig über relevante Vorhaben der Europäischen Union (EU) informieren und ihre Interessen in laufende Konsultationsverfahren einbringen. Erfahren Sie mehr.

SOLVIT: Schnelle Hilfe für Bürger und Unternehmen

SOLVIT ist ein Netzwerk, in dem alle EU- und EWR-Mitgliedstaaten zusammenarbeiten, um auf pragmatische Weise konkrete Probleme von Bürgerinnen und Bürgern sowie Unternehmen zu lösen, die durch die fehlerhafte Anwendung von Binnenmarktvorschriften durch Behörden entstehen.

Wie Sie eine Beschwerde einreichen und SOLVIT kontaktieren können sowie weitere Informationen über die Arbeit des SOLVIT-Netzwerkes erfahren Sie hier.

Aufgaben des Kompetenzzentrums Europarecht

Das BMWi nimmt in seiner Europaabteilung ressortübergreifend für die gesamte Bundesregierung - aber auch für viele Bereiche der Landesregierungen - zentrale europarechtliche Belange wahr. Außerdem übernimmt das BMWi die einheitliche Prozessvertretung Deutschlands vor den Europäischen Gerichten in Luxemburg.

Dabei geht es zum einen um Rechtsberatung auf dem Gebiet des Unionsrechts, um außergerichtliche Beilegung von Streitigkeiten mit der Europäischen Kommission (Vertragsverletzungsverfahren) sowie um Querschnittsfragen wie etwa die Subsidiaritätsprüfung oder die Abwehr von Zwangsgeldern. Erfahren Sie mehr.

Pressemitteilungen

  • 25.03.2019 - Pressemitteilung - Europäische Wirtschaftspolitik

    Parlamentarische Staatssekretäre Wittke und Hirte sprechen mit Schülerinnen und Schülern über Europa

    Öffnet Einzelsicht
  • 05.10.2018 - Pressemitteilung - Europäische Wirtschaftspolitik

    Festival of Lights – Europa im Licht

    Bilderstrecke

    Öffnet Einzelsicht

Weiterführende Informationen

Flaggen vor dem Europäischen Parlament zum Thema Europa